Lou Reed’s song ‘Perfect Day’ has been covered by Susan Boyle and will be the first track on her new album.

The second Susan Boyle album is titled ‘The Gift’.

‘Perfect Day’, written and recorded by Lou Reed for his 1972 ‘Transformer’ album, was also the b-side for his best known song, the classic ‘Walk On The Wild Side’.

Boyle wanted to sing the song earlier this month of ‘America’s Got Talent’ and an incorrect report from TMZ said that Reed stepped in and stopped her singing his classic. However, the truth was the song was not cleared through publishing for a US performance, although she could sing it on television in the UK.

Boyle’s ‘The Gift’ will include a cover of Crowded House’s ‘Don’t Dream It’s Over’, Leonard Cohen’s ‘Hallelujah’ and Christmas songs.

Sony will release The Gift on November 12, 2010.

1. Perfect Day
2. Hallelujah
3. Do You Hear What I Hear (Duet with Amber Stassi)
4. Don’t Dream It’s Over
5. The First Noel
6. O Holy Night
7. Away in A Manger
8. Make Me A Channel Of Your Peace
9. Auld Lang Syne
10. O Come All Ye Faithful