The Boxer Rebellion are Tennessee born vocalist Nathan Nicholson, Australian-born Todd Howe (lead guitar), London based Adam Harrison (bass) and fellow Londoner Piers Hewitt (drums). Signed by Alan McGee for his Poptones label The Boxer Rebellion's debut album is a mixture of abrasive guitars riffs, threatening bass lines, pounding drums and emotionally charged vocals.

‘Fight' kicks of the album with an aggressive burbling bass line and a menacing undertone reminiscent of The Cooper Temple Clause. ‘All You Do Is Talk' is a feverish slow burning hypnotic experience before blazing forth into a coral guitar frenzy. The single ‘Watermelon' is another furious highlight in an album that leaves little unnecessary excess with which to chew the critical cud. Mellower numbers include the haunting ‘World Without End', which floats eerily and melodically through pastures Radiohead have previously furrowed. ‘Never Knowing How Or Why' further complements the vocal harmonies of Nathan Nicholson with comparisons to Thom Yorke himself while Todd Howe's guitar continues tingling the senses.

‘Exits' delivers all it set out to and more. Toxic, dark and malevolent whilst inviting, quiet and conciliatory, it beckons further plays.